Registry Changes from NetDCU 9 to NetDCU14

      Registry Changes from NetDCU 9 to NetDCU14

      Hi!

      I am trying to convert a registry configuration file, which was used for the NetDCU 9, to the NetDCU14 with WEC7 and VGA.
      Unfortunately some registry entries have changed and I found some equivalents and changed the entry for the network card, but I am missing some documentation of how to configure the VGA port of the device in the same manner as before. Could you please help me?

      The configuration file looks like this:

      Source Code

      1. reg open \Drivers\BuiltIn\DigitalIO
      2. reg set value UseAsIO dword 0xff0eff
      3. reg set value DataDir dword 0x0ec0
      4. reg set value DataInit dword 0
      5. reg open \init
      6. reg set value Launch40 string "\FFSDISK\app\software.exe"
      7. reg set value Depend40 hex 1e,00
      8. reg open \comm\ethneta1\parms\tcpip
      9. reg set value IpAddress string "192.168.0.170"
      10. reg set value Subnetmask string "255.255.255.0"
      11. reg set value EnableDHCP dword 0
      12. reg open \System\ndcucfg
      13. reg set value Port string "COM1:"
      14. reg open \Drivers\display\samsung\Mode3
      15. reg set value EnableCursor dword 0
      16. reg open \Drivers\BuiltIn
      17. reg create key FTPD
      18. reg set value Prefix string FTP
      19. reg set value Dll string FFSDISK\FTPD.DLL
      20. reg set value Index dword 0
      21. reg set value Order dword 99
      22. reg set value Keep dword 1
      23. reg open \comm
      24. reg create key FTPD
      25. reg set value IsEnabled DWORD 1
      26. reg set value UseAuthentication DWORD 0
      27. reg set value AllowAnonymous DWORD 1
      28. reg set value AllowAnonymousUpload DWORD 1
      29. reg set value DefaultDir string \
      30. reg set value Dll string FFSDISK\FTPD.DLL
      31. reg set value LogEnabled DWORD 1
      32. reg set value Keep DWORD 1
      33. reg open \drivers\display\smivgx
      34. reg set value mode dword 100
      35. reg create key Mode100
      36. reg set value Name string "XGA Standard Display"
      37. reg set value Type dword 0x2000
      38. reg set value Config dword 0x00300000
      39. reg set value Columns dword 1024
      40. reg set value PPL dword 1024
      41. reg set value BLW dword 160
      42. reg set value HSW dword 136
      43. reg set value ELW dword 24
      44. reg set value Rows dword 768
      45. reg set value BFW dword 29
      46. reg set value VSW dword 6
      47. reg set value LPP dword 768
      48. reg set value EFW dword 3
      49. reg set value Width dword 115
      50. reg set value Height dword 86
      51. reg set value Bpp dword 16
      52. reg set value Voltage dword 33
      53. reg set value ContrastEnable dword 9
      54. reg set value ContrastValue dword 0
      55. reg set value LCDClk dword 65000000
      56. reg set value Msignal dword 0
      57. reg set value EnableCursor dword 0
      58. reg set value PhysFrameBuffDraw dword 0
      59. reg save

      Hello

      VGA:
      which article number did you order (or provice my serial number)? Some NetDCU14 artivel has no VGA. As far as i see there are no additional adjustments required to deploy VGA.

      DIO: please refer Device Driver Dokument.

      FTP: runs by default, but you may adjust your desired settings
      F&S Elektronik Systeme GmbH
      As this is an international forum, please try to post in English.
      Da dies ein internationales Forum ist, bitten wir darum, Beiträge möglichst in Englisch zu verfassen.
      Hello,
      this "NDCU14-PREM-WEC7" is the WCE licence.
      Article "NetDCU14-512DAN2C2V-WEC7" should include VGA!
      Please give me some time i will do further check.
      F&S Elektronik Systeme GmbH
      As this is an international forum, please try to post in English.
      Da dies ein internationales Forum ist, bitten wir darum, Beiträge möglichst in Englisch zu verfassen.
      I checked also serial number HW is definitely ok and shloud support VGA.


      According device Driver
      Specify settings for analog CRT under the following key:
      [HKLM\Drivers\Display\LCD\HDMI]
      If you don’t create the key and don’t create value MODE default mode 0 is used.
      Also the setting are correct. Does the Operating System boot complete? Did you try to set registry to default?
      F&S Elektronik Systeme GmbH
      As this is an international forum, please try to post in English.
      Da dies ein internationales Forum ist, bitten wir darum, Beiträge möglichst in Englisch zu verfassen.
      Here is the boot-log with the settings from above:

      Brainfuck Source Code

      1. Microsoft Windows CE Ethernet Bootloader Common Library Version 1.1 Built Nov 19 2014 15:45:58
      2. Microsoft Windows CE Bootloader for NetDCU14 Built Nov 19 2014
      3. Portions copyright (c) 2012 F&S Elektronik Systeme GmbH
      4. Boot Loader, Version 1.14
      5. NBoot, Version VN20
      6. HW rev. 1.20
      7. HW-Watchdog: ON
      8. System ready!
      9. Preparing for download...
      10. Press >S< to step into monitor...
      11. AUTO BOOT enabled
      12. Kernel (3440kB) read from flash disk started finished in 818 milliseconds
      13. INFO: OEMLaunch: Jumping to Physical Address 0x4002A900h (Virtual Address 0x0h)...
      14. Windows CE Kernel for ARM (Thumb Enabled)
      15. [OAL] ++OEMInit()
      16. INFO:OALLogSetZones: dpCurSettings.ulZoneMask: 0xb
      17. OAL Log enable : 1
      18. OAL Log mask : 3
      19. ******** System Clock Info **********
      20. [OAL] APLL_CLK : 1000000000 Hz
      21. [OAL] MPLL_CLK : 667000000 Hz
      22. [OAL] EPLL_CLK : 96000000 Hz
      23. [OAL] VPLL_CLK : 54000000 Hz
      24. [OAL] ARM_CLK : 1000000000 Hz
      25. [OAL] HCLK_MSYS : 200000000 Hz
      26. [OAL] PCLK_MSYS : 100000000 Hz
      27. [OAL] HCLK_DSYS : 166750000 Hz
      28. [OAL] PCLK_DSYS : 83375000 Hz
      29. [OAL] HCLK_PSYS : 133400000 Hz
      30. [OAL] PCLK_PSYS : 66700000 Hz
      31. ******** System Clock Info **********
      32. ******** NKForceCleanBoot Change for Release **********
      33. OEM:-------------------------------------------
      34. OEM: Normal Boot!!
      35. OEM:-------------------------------------------
      36. NetDCU14 V1.09 - Firmware Init
      37. Copyright (c) 2012 F&S Elektronik Systeme GmbH
      38. Build: Nov 19 2014/16:12:50
      39. [OAL] 2NDLAN Enabled
      40. HW-WATCHDOG: ENABLED
      41. FMD: NAND ID:0xf192 --> EON: 1GBit (128MB)
      42. FMD: Block 0 to 6 are locked for boot loader
      43. [OAL] RestartReason: Reset
      44. [OAL] VidMemBase: 0x27000000
      45. FMD: NAND ID:0xf192 --> EON: 1GBit (128MB)
      46. FMD: Block 0 to 6 are locked for boot loader
      47. FSPART: FS partition driver loaded
      48. BINFS: RegisterVolume - Mounted volume '\BINFS'
      49. PM-NETDCU: STARTED
      50. DMSG: DrvWAITInitialize
      51. PWC: Version 1.0, ActiveKey = Drivers\Active\02
      52. UART: Version 1.3, Key = Drivers\Active\04
      53. UART: Version 1.3, Key = Drivers\Active\05
      54. BE2: Version 1.3, ActiveKey = Drivers\Active\06
      55. PSS: Version 1.1, ActiveKey = Drivers\Active\15
      56. CAM:Version 1.5, ActiveKey = Drivers\Active\16
      57. CAM:Version 1.5, ActiveKey = Drivers\Active\17
      58. CAM:Version 1.5, ActiveKey = Drivers\Active\18
      59. PIF: Version 1.0, ActiveKey = Drivers\Active\21
      60. OALIntrEnableIrqs -> VirtualIRQ=147 PhysicalIRQ=30
      61. OALIntrEnableIrqs -> VirtualIRQ=147 IRQ_GPJ3_INT3=147
      62. AX88796: Version 01.06, ActiveKey = Comm\ETHNETA
      63. ENC624J600: Version 01.01, ActiveKey = Comm\ETHNETNR
      64. AX88796: Version 01.06, ActiveKey = Comm\ETHNETB
      65. BE2: Version 1.3, ActiveKey = Drivers\Active\25
      66. I2C: Version 4.2, ActiveKey = Drivers\Active\26
      67. I2C: Version 4.2, ActiveKey = Drivers\Active\27
      68. NI2C: Version 3.3, ActiveKey = Drivers\Active\28
      69. NI2C: Version 3.3, ActiveKey = Drivers\Active\29
      70. CID: Version 2.14, ActiveKey = Drivers\Active\30
      71. CID: Version 2.14, ActiveKey = Drivers\Active\31
      72. AIN: Version 1.1, ActiveKey = Drivers\Active\32
      73. WAV: Version 2.3, ActiveKey = Drivers\Active\33
      74. CMM: Version 1.3, ActiveKey = Drivers\Active\36
      75. SDMMC0: Version 1.7, ActiveKey = Drivers\Active\37
      76. SDMMC0: Card removed!
      77. TVD: Version 1.5, ActiveKey = Drivers\Active\48
      78. MFC: Version 1.0, ActiveKey = Drivers\Active\49
      79. JPEG: VersiMFC power on
      80. on 1.0, ActiMFC power off
      81. veKey = Drivers\Active\50
      82. BCS: Version 1.3, ActiveKey = Drivers\Active\52
      83. DIO: Version 2.7, ActiveKey = Drivers\Active\53
      84. OHCI: Version 1.0, ActiveKey = Drivers\BuiltIn\OHCI
      85. FRW: Version 1.0, ActiveKey = Drivers\Active\62
      86. LCD: Version 1.9, ActiveKey = Drivers\Display\LCD
      87. LCD: Read registry settings from Drivers\Display\LCD
      88. LCD: Can't load
      89. LCD: Display-Mode 100, Name XGA Standard Display
      90. TCHPDD: Version 1.8, Key = HARDWARE\DEVICEMAP\TOUCH
      91. TCHKEY: Version 1.0, Key = HARDWARE\DEVICEMAP\TOUCH\VirtualKeys
      92. NDCUCFG V 57 started. PlatfCheckAutoStart: Version 1.6, LaunchNum = 100
      93. orm: NetDCU14
      94. NDCUCFG Open COM1: at 38400 Baud
      95. CreateFile() failed -> ERROR COM1:
      96. [VDE:INFO] GRP0 phy adr=0x27000000
      97. HDMICfg: Version 1.5
      98. USBFN: Version 1.0, ActiveKey = Drivers\Active\72
      99. USBFN: Serial Function Class Enabled
      100. [HDMI: HDMICheckPhyReady] 1
      I test it on my desk using same kernel version and default WCE Registry and got same debug output. But the monitor is working proper.
      1. Please set Registry to default (command "R" in bootloader ... wait unitl completely booted)
      If this does not resolve the problem please send board as RMA i assume a HW issue then.
      Else:
      2. Adjust your LCD using a XGA Panel file from our homepage or a default XGA display mode.


      PS "What does "LCD: Can't load" mean? " i have to check the code. But it seems to be not the cause of failure, because i see it on my side too.
      F&S Elektronik Systeme GmbH
      As this is an international forum, please try to post in English.
      Da dies ein internationales Forum ist, bitten wir darum, Beiträge möglichst in Englisch zu verfassen.
      Ok I resetted the registry with R command, then it restarts in mode 6 -> no VGA output
      Then I set the mode to "2" (XGA) -> no VGA output

      So as far as I know the pinout of the vga connector is the same as for the netdcu 9, then it maybe a hardware defect.
      With the netdcu9 it is working properly.

      We will send the board back to you and I hope you can send another one soon to us.
      Hello
      We will send the board back to you and I hope you can send another one soon to us
      You have to send it back as RMA. You can request RMA at our Homepage->Support->... (if necessary via your distributor).
      F&S Elektronik Systeme GmbH
      As this is an international forum, please try to post in English.
      Da dies ein internationales Forum ist, bitten wir darum, Beiträge möglichst in Englisch zu verfassen.
      Hello,
      we checked the NetDCU14 you send, using several monitors and measure the signals. Everything seems to be ok. VGA feature works out of the box!
      We use SKIT STARTINF14 were VGA is pin compatible to NetDCU5.2/9/14!

      Any issue we did not recognized?
      F&S Elektronik Systeme GmbH
      As this is an international forum, please try to post in English.
      Da dies ein internationales Forum ist, bitten wir darum, Beiträge möglichst in Englisch zu verfassen.
      Today I got the board back from you and made some additional tests.
      The monitor is a 15" 4:3 TFT Screen with VGA and a maximum resolution of 1024x768.
      The screen still stays blank and does not show any image with NetDCU14.
      With the NetDCU9, the same screen is working with the same underlying hardware. In that hardware, the screen is connected to a SubD 15Pin Connector, which is connected to pin 41-47 of J3 (exactly the same as in your SINTF board)

      So I took another screen with a higher maximum resolution and connected the NetDCU14 back to our hardware.
      Now I have an image, but the screen cannot display the Windows EC7 correctly in FullScreen. It looks like Windows is running in window-mode and is only shown in the top-left corner of the screen.
      I tried many of the default modes with different resolutions in \drivers\display\lcd, but they all have no real effect. With none of these modes I can get Windows displayed properly in full screen.
      The information menu of the monitor always shows 1280x720, 45kHz, 60Hz, even if the FSBoardConfig Utility shows 800x480 in the Display Tab. I also tried other monitors with 16:9 Format, but the result is the same.
      The NetDCU9 Board boots directly in FullScreen with the settings from my first posting and the monitor information menu shows correct values of 1024x768 60Hz.

      What I dont really understand in the registry:
      There is \drivers\display\lcd, which is used as a general setting for the analog VGA that we use in J3?
      Or do I have to use \drivers\display\lcd\hdmi ??
      Are only 16:9 resolutions available in hdmi?
      What settings should I make to have 1024x768 with 60Hz for VGA pins 41-47 in J3?

      Regards!
      Sorry i misunderstood.
      I did not test any special mode only that the output is working without any "enable flag" fro HDMI/CRT.

      By default RGB/LVDS and HDMI/CRT shows the same output/resolution. So to adjust XGA under HKLM/Drivers/Display/LCD/ModeX is enought (assume you use only a VGA monitor).

      If you want to show different output/resolution under RGB/LVDS and HDMI/CRT (Multi Monitor feature) you can adjust other as RGB/LVDS settings for HDMI/CRT under HKLM/Drivers/Display/LCD/HDMI/ModeX. For using this you have to adjust "TotalMonitor"=DWORD:2".

      So please try following:

      Source Code

      1. reg open \drivers\display\lcd
      2. reg create key mode100
      3. reg set value Name string "XGA Standard Display"
      4. reg set value Type dword 0x6
      5. reg set value Config dword 0x00300000
      6. reg set value Columns dword 1024
      7. reg set value PPL dword 1024
      8. reg set value BLW dword 160
      9. reg set value HSW dword 136
      10. reg set value ELW dword 24
      11. reg set value Rows dword 768
      12. reg set value BFW dword 29
      13. reg set value VSW dword 6
      14. reg set value LPP dword 768
      15. reg set value EFW dword 3
      16. reg set value Width dword 115
      17. reg set value Height dword 86
      18. reg set value Bpp dword 16
      19. reg set value Voltage dword 33
      20. reg set value ContrastEnable dword 1
      21. reg set value ContrastValue dword 0
      22. reg set value LCDClk dword 65000000
      23. reg set value Msignal dword 0
      24. reg set value EnableCursor dword 0
      25. reg set value PhysFrameBuffDraw dword 0
      26. display mode set 100
      27. reg save
      28. REM don't forget the "enter" after reg save!

      F&S Elektronik Systeme GmbH
      As this is an international forum, please try to post in English.
      Da dies ein internationales Forum ist, bitten wir darum, Beiträge möglichst in Englisch zu verfassen.

      Post was edited 4 times, last by “fs-support_ZU” ().

      Hello,
      i am sorry. My suggestion above will not work!
      The CPU is only abel to drive HDMI standard modes. So XGA on CRT is not possible.

      On request we can offer a schematic for Digital-RGB to DVI/HDMI converter.
      F&S Elektronik Systeme GmbH
      As this is an international forum, please try to post in English.
      Da dies ein internationales Forum ist, bitten wir darum, Beiträge möglichst in Englisch zu verfassen.