armStoneA8/Linux development state and releases

• Hello,

That's the type of OS I'm interrested in!
    Do you have any further Infos about the release?
    What will be in there? Which Kernel?
    How can we build it?

In respect to your products, I'm a newbie...
    So any teasing info until the release will be welcomed.

HoBa

• We are nearly done and await a release in the next week. HDMI and Audio did take a little longer than anticipated.

The release will be based on Linux-Kernel 3.3, U-Boot is 2011.12. As always, the root filesystem will build on BuildRoot.

Your F&S Support Team

F&S Elektronik Systeme GmbH
    As this is an international forum, please try to post in English.
    Da dies ein internationales Forum ist, bitten wir darum, Beiträge möglichst in Englisch zu verfassen.

• Signed.

I'd even be happy with an incomplete/interim release without A/V support for now, at least that way one could poke around in other areas of the platform. For now (that is, once I get my hands on the actual hardware) I'll have to see how far we'll get with a "vanilla" buildroot. But I'd rather not have to spend my time on that.

• Sorry, but there were some additional problems with drivers that needed more work than anticipated (USB host, LCD, NAND flash). Usually these drivers work right out of the box, but it showed that on S5PV210 (the CPU of the armStoneA8) there was missing some important architecture specific "glue" code which had to be written first. We never saw a board that needed this much rework at nearly every driver. I actually skipped my vacation that I wanted to have this week to get the release done as quick as possible.

But we're done now. We are currently building the final packages, checking everything into git and writing the Readme and changelogs. The release will be tomorrow, Friday. Sorry for the additional delay, we really thought it would go smoother.

Your F&S Support Team