Several beginner questions - Gorenje - fsimx8mm

• Hi,

I am new to embedded Linux (but do have experiences as user of Linux on PC, RPI, Armbian, VPS, ...), so my questions will be very basic.

I hope I can ask in this thread and get help.

I currently have 1 development system PicoCore™MX8MM and according to Uboot has following:

CPU: Freescale i.MX8MMQ rev1.0 1800 MHz (running at 1200 MHz)

CPU: Commercial temperature grade (0C to 95C) at 57C

Reset cause: POR

Model: FSL i.MX8MM PCoreMX8MM board

DRAM: 1 GiB

PMIC: BD71847 Rev. 0xa0

NAND: 512 MiB

MMC: FSL_SDHC: 0, FSL_SDHC: 1

Loading Environment from NAND... OK

auto-detected panel NT35521_OLED

Display: NT35521_OLED (720x1280)

Video: 720x1280x24

It appears to be an older version, as it's debug UART isn't where it's supposed to be in any documentation. I was promised to get new one, but am currently working with what I have.

Our companies short term goal is to develop user interface for white goods appliance (Gorenje) with SOM/SOC.

As we don't have such experience, I am learning how to do this.

I am working with following documents FSiMX8MM_FirstSteps_eng.pdf, LinuxOnFSBoards_eng.pdf, FSiMX8_FirstSteps_eng.txt.

I am using Fedora VM, which I loaded with 20201106 fsimx8mm-B2020.08-pre.tar.bz2.

Following guides in mentioned documents, I managed to succesfully build complete system SW (Uboot, Kernel and Buildroot).

Now I am trying to transfer it via TFTP & Uboot to the board.

Meanwhile I have few questions (more will follow).